Raven – Pauline Creeden

Raven by Pauline Creeden – I didn’t realize when I picked up this book that it was Christian fantasy (it’s clear on Amazon, I had just forgotten when it came up in my Kindle); I think it will appeal to non-Christians too. I also didn’t realize it was steampunk when I picked it up, but if steampunk isn’t your thing, don’t be turned off – the steampunk aspects of the story were fairly restrained. I really enjoyed watching Raven Steele develop through the story; she was both a “strong female character” in that she was awesome at kicking tail when necessary, but also strong in other ways. She wasn’t perfect, and she grew through the story, although there is plenty of room for further character growth as the series continues. I’ll definitely be continuing the series as well as reading more of Creeden’s books. Also, is that cover awesome or what?! I love it.

Raven was originally published as a serial. The full novel is on sale right now for $0.99, but I don’t know how long that will last. The first episode is free (permafree, I think).

2014 GRACE AWARD Winner in Speculative Fiction
2015 IndieBrag Award Winner

Awarded the Crowned Heart for Excellence – “Prepare for an adventure that flies from moment to moment with breathtaking speed and intensity!” – Penelope Anne Bartotto for InDtale Magazine

Human life has value.
The poor living in the gutter are as valuable as the rich living in a manor.
The scoundrel is no less valuable than the saint.
Because of this, every life a reaper takes must be redeemed.

Raven has lived by this first tenet since she was trained by her father to become a reaper. But since his death, she’s been spending years redeeming the lives she’s taken. By her count, she’s even and it’s time for that life to end. If she settles down and becomes a wife, she might just feel human again. But on the way to the life she thinks she wants, the baron of New Haven asks her to complete a task which she cannot ignore… Just when Raven decides to give up on her life as an assassin, she’s pulled right back in.

This is the complete Steampunk Fantasy novel – all four parts of the serial in one volume! Also includes bonus features not found in the episodes ~

This book review originally appeared on C. J. Brightley’s blog.